Loading Events

Gradam Ceoil TG4

17 February, 2019 @ 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Waterfront Hall

2 Lanyon Place
Belfast, BT1 3WH

Gradam Ceoil TG4 is the premier annual traditional music awards scheme and academy. An independent panel of adjudicators selects recipients each year. It is not a competition. The Gradam Ceoil recipients are presented with a specially-commissioned piece by leading sculptor John Coll as well as a small stipend.

This year’s awards will be presented at the Gradam Ceoil TG4 Concert in the Waterfront Hall, Belfast on Sunday 17th February. At this live televised concert, hosted by Doireann Glackin & Dónal O’Connor, the 2019 Gradam recipients will be joined in performance on stage by their own special musical guests in a unique, star-studded line-up of musicians and award-presenters.

The full list of TG4 Gradam Ceoil 2019 recipients reads as follows:

  • Ceoltóir na Bliana / Musician of the Year: Catherine McEvoy
  • Ceoltóir Óg / Young Musician of the Year: Conor Connolly
  • Gradam Saoil / Lifetime Achievement: Nicky & Anne McAuliffe
  • Amhránaí na Bliana / Singer of the Year: Thomas McCarthy
  • Gradam Comaoine / Outstanding Contribution: Brendan Mulkere
  • Gradam Cumadóir agus Comharcheoil / Musical Collaboration – Composition: Tríona Ní Dhomhnaill

Acts include

  • Tríona Ní Dhomhnaill – with Maighread Ní Dhomhnaill, Paddy Glackin and Dónal Lunny.
  • Conor Connolly – with Andrea Palandri on fiddle and Michael McCague on Guitar.
  • Catherine McEvoy – with Ruairí McGorman (bouzouki), Tom McGorman (flute), Fergus McGorman (flute), Jane McGorman (fiddle), Paddy McEvoy (piano), John McEvoy (fiddle).
Gradam Ceoil TG4 2019 Award Winners


17 February, 2019
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
€22.50 – €26.50


Waterfront Hall
2 Lanyon Place
Belfast, BT1 3WH
+44 (0)28 9033 4400
View Venue Website